Oswego Palladium (Oswego, NY), Wed. , April 27, 1842
- Full Text
LAUNCH. - The elegant first class Steamboat, "Lady of the Lake," was launched from the ship yard in East Oswego, yesterday afternoon. She is 196 feet in length and 24 feet wide, of a beautiful model and constructed of the very best materials. She was built by Mr. G. S. Weeks, and as a specimen of elegant and substantial boat building, is probably unsurpassed by any craft on the lakes. She is owned by the proprietors of the line of canal packets running between this place and Utica.
The "Lady of the Lake" is to be propelled by a low pressure engine of 100 horse power, and on her completion will be commanded by Capt. J. J. Taylor, a gentleman well known on the lake for his experience and skill as an engineer, as well as for his gentlemanly deportment, is eminently qualified to fill the station, and will ensure a high degree of confidence to the travelling community.
The "Lady of the Lake" will run on the route between this and Lewiston, and will be a great accession to the travelling facilities of Lake Ontario.
- Media Type:
- Item Type:
- Date of Original:
- Wed. , April 27, 1842
- Local identifier:
- Language of Item:
- Richard Palmer
- Copyright Statement:
- Public domain: Copyright has expired according to the applicable Canadian or American laws. No restrictions on use.
Maritime History of the Great Lakes